Skip to content

Mayor decides not to run, four hop into the race

The filing period for the April 5 election closed at 5:00 p.m. Tuesday, December 28, with four persons running for mayor, five for school board, and three for hospital board.
Mayor Donnie Wells, who had filed for reelection, withdrew his name this week. Tuesday four persons filed for mayor: Lane Daniel, Shyanne Daniel, former mayor Danny Cannon, and Brenda Jarrett.
Unopposed for election to city office are Ward I alderman Sam Mudd and Ward II alderman John Williams.
The offices of mayor and aldermen are for two-year terms.
For Cabool Board of Education, there will be two seats on the board decided, each for a three-year term. The terms of Jacob Reese and Shaun Watson are expiring. Jacob Reese filed Tuesday, joining candidates Shaun Watson, Tony Hughes, Dennis Brown and Nadine Wallace.
Candidates for a five-year term on the board of Texas County Memorial Hospital are Beverly Clark of Houston, who filed Tuesday; George Sholtz of Houston; and incumbent Dr. Jim Perry of Cabool.

Leave a Comment